Skip to main content

Country Doctor of the Year Award

This funding record is inactive. Please see the program website or contact the program sponsor to determine if this program is currently accepting applications or will open again in the future.

Staff Care
Nov 15, 2018

Phil Miller


The award is presented each year to a physician who best exemplifies the spirit, skill, and dedication of America's rural medical practitioners. Anyone with knowledge of an extraordinary physician may submit a nomination.


A selection committee comprised of industry executives and experienced rural physicians judges nominations based on the following criteria:

  • The nominated physician must provide primary care to patients of all ages
  • The nominee must demonstrate a high level of clinical expertise and a commitment to improving healthcare delivery in the community and/or throughout the profession
  • The nominated physician must practice in a community of 20,000 people or less
  • The nominee must have demonstrated extraordinary dedication to patients and the community during the year and throughout his or her career
Geographic coverage
Amount of funding

Award winners receive complimentary locum tenens (temporary physician) coverage for 2 weeks, allowing them to take some time off, a service valued at $10,000. They also receive a personalized plaque, an engraved stethoscope, and a monogrammed lab coat, as well as an induction ceremony.

Application process

A link to the online nomination form is available on the program website.

Tagged as
Physicians ยท Primary care

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.