Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Culture of Health Prize

This funding record is inactive. Please see the program website or contact the program sponsor to determine if this program is currently accepting applications or will open again in the future.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Letter of Intent (Required): Oct 15, 2020
Application: Dec 21, 2020


The Culture of Health Prize is awarded to honor collaborative, community-based efforts that are prioritizing health and empowering people in the community to live healthier lives, especially historically marginalized populations and those facing the greatest barriers to good health.

Awards will honor entire communities, not single organizations or initiatives. The prize is intended to shine a light on communities that have created powerful partnerships and deep commitments to make changes that will lead to longer, healthier lives for community members.

Criteria for determining Culture of Health Prize winners can be found on the program website.


To be eligible to apply for a prize, a community must be based in the United States and fall into one of the following categories:

  • County, parish, borough, city, town, village, or other municipality with a publicly elected governing body
  • Federally recognized tribe or a state-designated Indian reservation
  • Native Hawaiian organization serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians in Hawaii
  • Region defined as geographically contiguous municipalities, counties, and/or reservations
  • Communities within U.S. territories

Each applicant community will be required to designate a local governmental or tax-exempt public charity operating within its community to accept the prize.

Geographic coverage
Amount of funding

Up to 10 communities will each receive a $25,000 award.

Application process

Links to additional guidance and the application instructions are available on the program website when applications are being accepted.

The application process involves three phases:

Phase 1: Applicants must submit a brief, introductory essay by October 15, 2020 through an online application portal.

Phase 2: Selected applicants will be invited to submit full application, with a deadline of December 21, 2020.

Phase 3: On February 16, 2021, finalists will be invited to compete for the overall prize, and an on-site visit will be conducted. National winners will be recognized in the fall of 2021.

Tagged as
American Indian or Alaska Native · Community engagement and volunteerism · Culture and cultural competency · Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander · Networking and collaboration · Population health · Public health · Wellness, health promotion, and disease prevention

Organizations (1)

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.