Skip to main content

#RuralHealthChat: 2020 Census Engagement Opportunities for Rural Health Stakeholders

Date: Thursday, February 27, 2020
Time: 11:00 a.m. Pacific; 12:00 p.m. Mountain; 1:00 p.m. Central; 2:00 p.m. Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Rural and frontier communities are at risk of being undercounted in the U.S. Census, as nearly 70 percent of the hard-to-count population lives in these areas. An accurate census count is critical because it determines the allocation of federal funding and ensures fair political representation.

On February 27th, join us to discuss the challenges to reaching hard-to-count populations and learn about the strategies rural health stakeholders are using to maximize responses in rural communities. We’ll be using the hashtag #RuralHealthChat to tweet with experts from around the country who are excited to share their knowledge. Everyone is welcome to provide comments, questions, or just follow along!

Co-Host:

  • National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) – @NOSORH

Special Guests:

  • Allen Smart, Founder, PhilanthropywoRx – @allensmart6
  • Nelsy Dominguez, Program Director, Con Alma Health Foundation – @nmhealth
  • Ty Borders, Director, UK Center for Rural and Underserved Health Research – @rural_center
  • Teryn Zmuda, Deputy Chief Innovation Officer and Chief Economist, National Association of Counties – @terynzmuda
  • Rural Policy Research Institute – @RUPRIhealth
  • NORC Walsh Center for Rural Health Analysis – @WalshCenter
  • County Health Rankings & Roadmaps – @CHRankings
  • The Census Project – @censusproject

We used the hashtag #RuralHealthChat to tweet with expert special guests about 2020 Census engagement opportunities for rural health stakeholders. To see the full conversation and access the resources shared, check them out below, via List.ly.

If you have any questions, please contact Lexie Schmidt at lexie@ruralhealthinfo.org or 701.777.6046.