Skip to main content

Understanding Health Disparities in Rural America - Insights from the CDC MMWR Rural Health Series

Date:
Time: 11:00am Pacific, 12:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Central, 2:00pm Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Did you know rural racial and ethnic minorities are less likely to have a usual source of care? These and other unique health challenges experienced by rural racial and ethnic populations are often overlooked in conversations on rural health. The recent MMWR report, Racial/Ethnic Health Disparities Among Rural Adults – United States, 2012-2015 looked at health disparities among rural racial and ethnic groups. Join authors of the report from the CMS Office of Minority Health and CDC Office of Minority Health and Health Equity as they provide an overview of racial and ethnic health disparities in rural communities, including indicators such as health-related quality of life and chronic health conditions. CMS and CDC will be joined by two FORHP Outreach grantees who will share how they are working to address racial and ethnic disparities in their communities. The presentation will also provide resources to help improve the quality of care provided to all individuals, reduce disparities, and achieve health equity.

Featured Speakers

  • Moderated by Tom Morris, Director, HRSA Federal Office of Rural Health Policy
  • Cara James, PhD, Director, CMS Office of Minority Health and co-chair of CMS Rural Health Council
  • Jeffrey Hall, PhD, MSPH, Deputy Associate Director for Science, CDC Office of Minority Health & Health Equity
  • Palo Verde Hospital, FORHP Outreach Grantee
  • Innis Community Health Center, FORHP Outreach Grantee

Registration
This webinar is free. High-speed internet is required to participate. A recording will be available on our website after the live event. Connection details will be emailed to you immediately upon registration.

If you have questions or problems with the registration process, please contact Cathy Westerhausen at cathy@ruralhealthinfo.org or 701.777.0584.