Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Formerly the
Rural Assistance Center

Mental and Behavioral Health of Rural Children - Insights from the CDC MMWR Rural Health Series

Date:
Time: 9:00am Pacific, 10:00am Mountain, 11:00am Central, 12:00pm Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Featured Speakers:

Lara Robinson Lara Robinson, PhD, MPH, Child Development Studies Team at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities
Reem M. Ghandour Reem M. Ghandour, DrPH, Director of the Division of Epidemiology in HRSA MCHB’s Office of Epidemiology and Research
Linda Summers Linda Summers, PhD, FNP, Clinical Nurse Specialist and Certified Nurse Practitioner-Psychiatric for Ben Archer Health Center
Kara Bower Kara Bower, LBSW, Welcome Baby Healthy Start Program Director at Ben Archer Health Center

The next CDC MMWR Rural Health Series webinar will focus on the recently released series report Differences in Health Care, Family, and Community Factors Associated with Mental, Behavioral, and Developmental Disorders among Young Children across Rural and Urban Settings – US, 2011-2012.

CDC’s lead author, Dr. Robinson, and HRSA’s contributing author, Dr. Ghandour, will begin by examining factors impacting mental and behavioral health for rural children. The discussion of the research findings will be followed by insights from Ben Archer Health Center (BAHC), a recipient of multiple HRSA grant awards. Dr. Summers and Ms. Bower will share how BAHC is addressing the mental and behavioral health needs of children at the community level.

Registration
This webinar is free. High-speed internet is required to participate. A recording will be available on our website after the live event. Connection details will be emailed to you immediately upon registration.

If you have questions or problems with the registration process, please contact Cathy Westerhausen at cathy@ruralhealthinfo.org or 701.777.0584.