Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is sovereign state in the Pacific of over 600 islands, including Kosrae, Pohnpei, the Chuuk Islands, and the Yap Islands. It is freely associated with the United States via a treaty, the Compact of Free Association States. FSM was formerly part of the UN Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, administered by the United States. Its residents are citizens of the Federated States of Micronesia and the capital, Palikir, is located on Pohnpei island. FSM has a landmass of 702 square kilometers spread across 1,700 miles of ocean, with an estimated population of 103,643 (CIA, 2018).

According to the WHO Western Pacific Regional Office, as of 2011 the FSM has 4 state hospitals with a total of 326 beds, 5 health centers, 92 dispensaries, and 1 private 36-bed hospital.

For additional resources and information, see Pacific Territories, Commonwealth, and Freely Associated States.

Data Sources
CIA World Fact Book: Federated States of Micronesia; Country Health Information Profile: Federated States of Micronesia; U.S. Affiliated Pacific Basin Jurisdictions: Legal, Geographic and Demographic Information

Last Reviewed: 3/21/2018