Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Republic of Palau

The Republic of Palau is a sovereign state in the Pacific made up of six island groups and over 300 islands. Palau is freely associated with the United States via a treaty, the Compact of Free Association States. It was formerly part of the UN Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, administered by the United States. Palau's residents are citizens of the Republic of Palau and the capital, Melekeok, is located on Babeldaob, Palau's largest island.

Palau has a landmass of 459 square kilometers spread across 700 miles of ocean, with an estimated population of 21,516 (CIA, 2018). According to the 2000 Census of Palau, 71.2% of the population is Pacific Islander, 24.5% is Asian, 2.8% white, and 1.7% other.

Palau's Division of Primary and Preventive Health has 4 community health centers (CHCs), the Northern CHC in Ngarchelong, the Eastern CHC in Melekeok, the Western CHC in Ngaremlengui, and the Southern CHC in Peleliu, as well as 4 satellite dispensaries. According to the WHO Western Pacific Regional Office, Palau has 1 80-bed hospital, the Belau National Hospital. As of 2013 Palau was served by 26 physicians and as of 2010 there were 120 nurses and midwives.

The 2000 Census of Palau indicated that 54.4% of households had an income below $15,000. The Census found that 22.5% of Palau residents aged 25 or older had not completed high school.

For additional resources and information, see Pacific Territories, Commonwealth, and Freely Associated States.

Data Sources
CIA World Fact Book: Palau; U.S. Affiliated Pacific Basin Jurisdictions: Legal, Geographic and Demographic Information

Last Reviewed: 12/18/2018