Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Culture of Health Prize

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Jun 3, 2024

The Culture of Health Prize is awarded to honor collaborative, community-based efforts that address systemic barriers to health and well-being and help communities achieve health equity.

Awards will honor entire communities, not single organizations or initiatives. The prize recognizes diverse, cross-sector partnerships that center people who are most impacted by local or regional health inequities and the opportunities they see to create a culture of health in their communities.

Award criteria include:

  • Addressing structural racism and other structural injustices in order to create conditions that advance health equity
  • Committing to sustainable policy, systems, and financing that improve the community's physical, economic, or social conditions
  • Working alongside partners across sectors, and elevating the expertise and solutions held by people with firsthand experiences of health inequities
  • Engaging in cultural work that envisions and advances a more just future
  • Making the most of available community resources and fostering sustainability
  • Measuring and sharing qualitative and quantitative indicators of progress in culturally relevant ways

To be eligible to apply for a prize, a community must be based in the United States and fall into one of the following categories:

  • County, parish, borough, city, town, village, or other municipality with a publicly elected governing body
  • Federally recognized tribe or a state-designated Indian reservation
  • Native Hawaiian organization serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians or other Pacific Islanders in Hawaii
  • Region defined as geographically contiguous municipalities, counties, and/or reservations
  • Communities within U.S. territories

Each applicant community should represent multiple unique organizations whose partnership predates the prize application and will be required to designate a local governmental or tax-exempt public charity operating within its community to accept the prize.

Geographic coverage
Nationwide and U.S. territories
Amount of funding

Up to 10 communities will each receive a $250,000 award. Additional benefits are described on the program website.

Application process

Links to additional guidance and the application instructions are available on the program website.

The application process involves two phases:

Phase 1: Applicants must submit a full application through the online application portal by June 3, 2024 .

Phase 2: By August 12, 2024, finalists will be invited to compete for the overall prize, and an on-site visit will be conducted. National winners will be recognized in the summer of 2025.

Tagged as
American Indian or Alaska Native · Community and economic development · Community engagement and volunteerism · Culture and cultural competency · Health disparities · Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander · Networking and collaboration · Policy · Population health · Public health · Sustainability of programs · Wellness, health promotion, and disease prevention

Organizations (1)

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.