Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Regional AIDS Education and Training Centers (AETCs)

This funding record is inactive. Please see the program website or contact the program sponsor to determine if this program is currently accepting applications or will open again in the future.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Number: 93.145
Health Resources and Services Administration
Feb 5, 2024

For programmatic or technical questions:
Makeva M. Rhoden

For grants management or budget questions:
Nancy Gaines


Regional AIDS Education and Training Centers (AETCs) grants will provide funding to increase the number of healthcare providers who are educated and motivated to counsel, diagnose, treat, and medically manage people with HIV disease and to help prevent high-risk behaviors that lead to HIV transmission.

Applicants should demonstrate a plan to market and provide services for healthcare professionals in community-based organizations, local health departments, Federally Qualified Health Centers, interprofessional healthcare teams in rural settings, and those who are serving minority populations.

Program goals:

  1. Expand the number of healthcare team members providing HIV care and prevention services, including providers with different backgrounds or experiences
  2. Expand the ability of healthcare team members to provide effective HIV care and prevention services
  3. Improve health equity by integrating HIV care and prevention in primary care and other healthcare settings that provide services to underserved populations
  4. Enhance the capacity of the program to train healthcare team members to serve people at risk for or with HIV

Eligible applicants include:

  • Public and private entities, schools, and academic health science centers
  • Faith-based and community-based organizations
  • Tribes and tribal organizations

Service areas are divided up into 8 regions:

  • New England AETC (aligns with HHS Region 1): Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
  • Northeast/Caribbean AETC (aligns with HHS Region 2): New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Mid-Atlantic AETC (aligns with HHS Region 3): Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
  • Southeast AETC (aligns with HHS Region 4): Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
  • Midwest AETC (aligns with combined HHS Regions 5 and 7): Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Wisconsin
  • South Central AETC (aligns with HHS Region 6): Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas
  • Mountain West AETC (aligns with combined HHS Regions 8 and 10): Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
  • Pacific AETC (aligns with HHS Region 9): Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the 6 U.S.-affiliated Pacific Jurisdictions (Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau)
Geographic coverage
Nationwide and U.S. territories
Amount of funding

Award amount: Varies by region, subject to the availability of funds
Project period: 5 years
Estimated number of awards: 8
Estimated total program funding: $37,000,000

Application process

Links to the full announcement, application instructions, and the online application process are available through

Tagged as
HIV and AIDS · Health workforce education and training · Racial and ethnic groups

Organizations (1)

  • Health Resources and Services Administration, view details

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.