Skip to main content

Circle of Life Award: Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care

This funding record is inactive. Please see the program website or contact the program sponsor to determine if this program is currently accepting applications or will open again in the future.

American Hospital Association
Aug 16, 2019

Jane Jeffries


The Circle of Life Award honors projects that can be models for other healthcare organizations working to embed palliative and end-of-life care in a variety of settings.

Awardees are:

  • Emphasizing coordinated or integrated care delivery throughout all settings
  • Engaging underserved populations
  • Promoting palliative care in diverse populations
  • Using strategies for engaging communities
  • Creating partnerships with other healthcare organizations and practitioners, and initiatives within long-term care facilities

Rural organizations have received the award in the past.


All organizations or groups in the United States that provide palliative or end-of-life care are eligible for the award.

Awardees are end-of-life care programs that:

  • Serve individuals with serious and life-limiting illness, their families, and their communities
  • Demonstrate effective, patient/family-centered, timely, safe, efficient, and equitable care to patients with serious and life-limiting illness
  • Use innovative approaches to meeting critical needs and serve as sustainable, replicable models
  • Pursue quality improvement consistent with the National Consensus Project (NCP) Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care, NHPCO Standards of Practice for Hospice Programs or other widely-accepted standards, within their resources and capabilities
  • Address physical, psychosocial, spiritual, and cultural needs throughout the disease trajectory
Geographic coverage
Amount of funding

Awards are honorary. Up to 3 awards are presented each year.

Application process

A link to the application is available on the program website.

Upload the completed application to the American Hospital Association website.

Tagged as
Hospice and palliative care

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.