Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Healthcare Facilities Recruiting Providers: How to Become an NHSC Site

Approved National Health Service Corps (NHSC) sites provide primary care services to people in Health Professional Shortage Areas. The NHSC provides recruitment and retention assistance, as well as site-based and program-related technical assistance for approved sites. Additional information is provided on the program website.

Facilities eligible to become approved NHSC sites include:

  • Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • FQHC Look-Alikes
  • American Indian Health Facilities
  • Correctional and Detention Facilities
  • Certified Rural Health Clinics
  • Critical Access Hospitals
  • Community Mental Health Centers
  • State and Local Health Departments
  • Community Outpatient Facilities
  • Private Practices
  • School-Based Clinics
  • Mobile Units
  • Free Clinics
  • Substance Use Disorder Treatment Facilities (including Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration certified Opioid Treatment Programs and non-opioid outpatient substance use disorder treatment facilities)

Requirements that approved sites must meet include:

  • Be located in and treat patients from a federally designated HPSA. A searchable database of facilities and shortage designations is available on
  • Not discriminate based on patients' ability to pay or insurance payer, or based upon race, color, sex, national origin, disability, religion, age, sexual orientation, or gender identity
  • Provide culturally competent, comprehensive primary care services (medical, dental, and/or behavioral and mental health), which correspond to the designated HPSA type

Where to find additional information:

Last Updated: 1/10/2022
Last Reviewed: 1/10/2022