Skip to main content

Western Professional Student Exchange Program

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Applications accepted on an ongoing basis



The Professional Student Exchange Program (PSEP) allows students in specific western states and territories to enroll in selected out-of-state professional healthcare programs and pay reduced tuition.

Typically, a state will support its residents through PSEP in fields of study when a state-funded program is not available to its residents.


Students in Western states that are planning to attend healthcare professional schools, including:

  • Dentistry
  • Allopathic and osteopathic medicine
  • Occupational therapy
  • Optometry
  • Pharmacy
  • Physical therapy
  • Physician assistant
  • Podiatry

A chart showing fields and eligible states is provided on the program website.

Geographic coverage
15 Western states, as well as U.S. Pacific Territories and Freely Associated States
Amount of funding

Reduced tuition at out-of-state schools. Depending on the field of study and place of enrollment, a PSEP student can save between $8,000 and $32,000 per academic year.

Application process

Prospective students apply directly to the programs in which they wish to enroll and work directly with their home state certifying officer to become certified so that they can be considered for PSEP support.

Veterinary (DVM) applicants are strongly encouraged to certify before September 15th. Montana DVM applicants must certify by September 1st. Applicants for other professional healthcare programs must certify by October 15th of the year prior to admission.

Tagged as
Dental workforce · Health workforce education and training · Health workforce pipeline · Occupational therapy · Oral health · Pharmacy and prescription drugs · Pharmacy workforce · Physical therapy · Physician assistants · Physicians · Primary care · Alaska · Arizona · California · Colorado · Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands · Hawaii · Idaho · Montana · Nevada · New Mexico · North Dakota · Oregon · South Dakota · Utah · Washington · Wyoming

For complete information about funding programs, including your application status, please contact funders directly. Summaries are provided for your convenience only. RHIhub does not take part in application processes or monitor application status.