Skip to main content
Rural Health Information Hub

Formerly the
Rural Assistance Center

Different Models

There are six categories of community health worker (CHW) programs. These program models are not mutually exclusive; some programs may incorporate elements from multiple categories. When designing your rural CHW program, you may adapt components from more than one program model to address the needs of your community.